top of page
Featured Posts

Finally In Japan


Hello from Tokyo, Japan! One week ago, I arrived in this beautiful country, and I have already fallen in love all over again. I am thankful and honored to be here.

The last few weeks before my departure felt like absolute chaos. The twists and turns were so frequent that it is difficult to remember all that went wrong. I only remember the highlights now, or rather, the lowlights. However, in the end I was able to finally enter Japan, and that was an amazing feeling. It amazes me to know that the Lord is worth all of the pain and frustration, and that he said I was worth it when he died for me.

Everyone at the YWAM Tokyo base has been so welcoming toward me. Upon arrival, I was greeted with delicious Japanese snacks, joyful faces, and all the help I could ask for. Some people I knew from when I was at the base before, but there are many more whom it has been a pleasure meeting for the first time. They are all truly exceptional lovers of God.

This week has been filled with learning how to navigate (it can be easy to get lost when you cannot read the signs), unpacking, becoming familiar with meeting places, getting to know new people, trips to City Hall, and praying about ministry. I have been encouraged by the members of the base over and over again to not rush the adjustment, which was a surprisingly heavy burden in the beginning.

Japan is a spiritually different place than it was five years ago. The garden of God's people has been growing! Those laboring here have certainly not labored in vain, and the prayers that you have been praying are shaking and breaking foundations, making room for the Kingdom of God here in Japan.

I have been talking with God a lot about my vision and what I want to see here, and I can see that he wants me to just be me. I say, "God, what would you like me to do?" And he says, "Do what you have always done. You make family wherever you go, and right now we are going to do that here."

I love to disciple and teach. I love to listen and encourage. I love making sure people know how important they are. These are the things I will be considering as I learn more about the different ministry options, and I am thankful to have so many opportunities to do those things here.

Again, I am astonished by God and overjoyed to be here. I miss you so much! The homesickness came as soon as I arrived. But I am happy to love you so much, and to know that you also love me! What a joy to be able to say that about home.

Please continue to pray for transitions here, pray for the assortment of logistical tasks that need to be dealt with, and pray that I will make deeply life-giving connections here in Tokyo. I took some quick snapshots of where I am living in Japan, and some of the things I get to see everyday!

​​

Your prayers are changing Japan! Thank you for your faithfulness!


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Other Resources
  • Facebook Classic
  • Instagram App Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
bottom of page