top of page
Featured Posts

Give Thanks To Him; Bless His Name!

Psalm 100

Make a joyful noise to the Lord, all the earth! Serve the Lord with gladness! Come into his presence with singing!

Know that the Lord, he is God! It is he who made us, and we are his; we are his people, and the sheep of his pasture.

Enter his gates with thanksgiving, and his courts with praise! Give thanks to him; bless his name!

For the Lord is good; his steadfast love endures forever, and his faithfulness to all generations.

Being a part of the School of Worship and Transformation has been challenging me to study and meditate on what the Bible has to say about worship. I've been looking for answers to questions like; Why do we worship? What is worship? What is the goal of leading worship? How can we have a face-to-face encounter with God's love?

Just like a romantic relationship, I've found that it is necessary to thank God and praise him. It's more for us than it is for him. When we confess the truth about who he is, we are doing spiritual warfare against darkness.

Thanking is simply telling him what he has done. Praising is telling him what he's like. They both go hand-in-hand, but with American Thanksgiving around the corner I wanted to encourage you with some of the things I am thankful for this year.

In order to thank someone, you must think, ponder, call to mind, remember, and speak out to the person you are thanking. It's simple, but I've found that a lot of my relationships, including my relationship with God, are missing this key ingredient.

Here are the things that came to mind while I was remembering what God has done:

1) Thank you, Lord, that I get to be Japan, sharing the Good News of Jesus. Thank you for the great work you are doing in this nation, and how Japan is going to affect the rest of the world. Thank you that you love Japan, and nothing else will quench your desire for them to you know. Thank you that I get to see the tipping point of a nation falling in love with Jesus.

2) Thank you, Holy Spirit, for putting me into a community of people who love you, and are willing to give their lives for you. Thank you that you've captivated the hearts of your people, and I get to be one of them!

3) Thank you Holy Spirit, for the Bible, and all of its treasures. Thank you that it is full of life, and I have access to the knowledge of Jesus at any moment. Thank you for protecting it through the generations for me to hear.

4) Thank you, God, for everything you're teaching me during this season. Thank you that I get to be a part of the School of Worship. Thank you for not leaving me to figure you out on my own. Thank you for not giving up on me and for setting me free.

5) Thank you for my family in California, and for my supporters. Thank you for blessing them tremendously and speaking to them. It would be a tragedy to be here in Japan without their support and encouragement. Your way is best, Lord. Thank you that you've given me visitors like Noah, Steph, Bethany, and my sister, Josie. I can't believe how loved I am. I can't believe how wonderful the family you've given me is.

6) Thank you that I get to be in a relationship with Mosese. Thank you that he is a prayer warrior, fighting for me and my friends and family. Thank you for his love for simple fun and adventure. He is full of kindness and generosity. And of course, thank you for the constant laughter.

7) Thank you, Lord, for your provision! Thank you for providing for me to be here for nearly two years. You keep saying, "Trust me. Trust me." And I never went in need of something. Thank you for taking care of me, and building communities around me.

8) Thank you for sending me to Thailand this year. It was one of the most special events I have ever been to, and my view of missions is forever expanded. I got to see the nations come to worship, and I wouldn't trade that memory at all.

9) Thank you, God, for sending me to Steph and Enzo's wedding! It was a dream come true for me to see them married. You provided everything I needed, and I got to celebrate the union of two of my best friends.

10) Thank you, Holy Spirit, for establishing the new base in Tohoku this year. It was a dream of our base in Tokyo to see that base begin and begin well. You have done a magnificent thing in sending them out. Thank you! Thank you!

Ahhhhhhhhhh! He is so good. He is so good to me. Let's thank God, and tell him who he is. Praise him for his strength and his goodness. I love you. Thank you for reading, and for always reminding me that I am a treasure. May God bless you with every spiritual blessing in heavenly places! And HAPPY THANKSGIVING!


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Other Resources
  • Facebook Classic
  • Instagram App Icon
  • YouTube Social  Icon
bottom of page